Wisconsin Holstein Association Wisconsin Holstein

Holstein Association News Releases

Wisconsin Holstein Association Awards Scholarships to Members

Baraboo, Wis. May 31, 2012 - The Wisconsin Holstein Association has named the 2012 scholarship winners. These 14 outstanding members will receive their scholarships at the annual Junior Holstein Convention hosted by Rock County, December 28-30, 2012. Scholarships are awarded to members studying in agriculture or related fields as well as recognizing the Distinguished Junior Members representing Wisconsin at the national contest.

Nicolas Schuster of Fond du Lac, Wis. will receive the Gordon Berg Memorial Scholarship. Gordon was a long-time Wisconsin Holstein member and breeder from Brownsville, Wis. This scholarship is given to a student enrolled in a technical college, two-year, or short course agriculture program. Schuster is the 18-year-old son of Ivan and Mary Schuster and is attending UW-Madison Farm and Industry Short Course and plans to someday own his own herd of registered Holsteins.

Also receiving a two-year scholarship will be Devin Kepler of Viola, Wis. Kepler is the 18-year-old son of Lonnie and Dana Kepler

Receiving the Doris Morris Memorial Scholarship is Thomas Larson of Viroqua, Wis. Larson is the 17-year-old son of Kevin and Julie Larson. Larson will be attending the University of Wisconsin Madison for Biological System Engineering this fall. This scholarship is in honor of Doris who was a longtime Wisconsin Holstein member. Doris and her husband Arden, along with Arden’s brother Maldwyn and his wife, Inez, owned and operated Arwyn Farms in Waukesha County for over 40 years.

Mathew O’Leary of Brandon, Wis. will receive the Bradley Fust Memorial Scholarship. This scholarship is given in memory of Brad who was an enthusiastic member of the Junior Holstein Association from Wausau, Wis. O’ Leary is the 18-year-old son of Neil and Fran O’ Leary. He will be attending the University of Wisconsin-Madison in the fall to major in Dairy Science with hopes of becoming a veterinarian.

In addition seven more well deserving Wisconsin Holstein Juniors will receive four-year scholarships. They include: Nathan Huser, Cody Getschel, Abby Wethal, Andrea Pegenkopf, Kirstin Solum, Brett Getschel, Mathias Olson, Laura Finley, Monique Levash and Kayla Krueger.

The National Distinguished Junior Member representatives will be announced at the Junior Holstein Convention banquet in December and each will receive a scholastic achievement scholarship.

Wisconsin Holstein would like to congratulate all of these outstanding members as they have a bright future in front of them. We invite all Wisconsin Holstein members planning to attend a two or four-year college to apply for a scholarship in 2013.