Wisconsin Holstein Association Wisconsin Holstein

Industry News releases

2016 Holstein Association USA Delegate Election Underway

Brattleboro, Vt. (July 28, 2015)…With the 2015 National Holstein Convention successfully concluded, the election of delegates for the 2016 Annual Meeting is underway.

Delegates attend Holstein Association USA’s Annual Meeting, representing the members in their election district, to elect officers and board members and to vote on bylaw amendments and resolutions.

At the 2015 Annual Meeting, held in June, delegates voted to amend an Association bylaw to allow appointment of an unelected nominee to an unfilled seat from another state in the same region, effective this year. Also going into effect this year is the combination of Connecticut and Rhode Island into one delegate election district.

The 2016 Annual Meeting will be held in Saratoga Springs, New York, June 29-July 1.

Here are the important deadlines to take into account:

Important Deadlines

August 3 - Nominating petitions mailed to members
October 1 - Nominating petitions must be received by Holstein Association USA
October 15 - Deadline for nominees to withdraw names from the ballot
November 2 - Ballots mailed to members
January 4, 2016 - Ballots must be received by Holstein Association USA
February 1, 2016 – 2016 delegate election finalized

Members Ineligible to Serve in 2016

In accordance with Holstein Association USA bylaws, the following members are ineligible to serve in 2016, having served three consecutive years as elected delegates:

Joey Airosa, California
Matthew E. Iager DVM, Maryland
Paul R. Haskins, Ohio
Barry M. England, Pennsylvania
Kenneth M. Umble, Pennsylvania
Martha E. Seifert, Vermont
Paul A. Trapp, Jr., Wisconsin